The Night We Met

Many of you know this song (The Night We Met) from the Netflix’ latest new series, 13 Reasons Why – it struck a chord with me instantly, but not because of the show.

When I saw my first, and currently only, concert at Red Rocks Amphitheater in Colorado, I saw Lord Huron (the band who sings this song) and Trampled by Turtles. It was an all around bucket experience. It was part of a personal awakening for me. Working hard and making my dreams come true. Seeing myself as more than I had prior to the age of 36, loving myself, my body, and who I was becoming.

As I stood in awe of my surroundings, the first chords broke the air, made their way around the rocks, and embraced me. It was this song that was my first to be heard that evening. The evening that the universe and I connected in a way I will never forget, nor that I can ever truly explain. I cried, I was filled with joy, I was humbled, and I was changed.

Here are the lyrics by Lord Huron:

I am not the only traveler

Who has not repaid his debt

I’ve been searching for a trail to follow again

Take me back to the night we met

And then I can tell myself

What the hell I’m supposed to do

And then I can tell myself

Not to ride along with you

I had all and then most of you

Some and now none of you

Take me back to the night we met

I don’t know what I’m supposed to do

Haunted by the ghost of you

Oh, take me back to the night we met

When the night was full of terrors

And your eyes were filled with tears

When you had not touched me yet

Oh, take me back to the night we met

I had all and then most of you

Some and now none of you

Take me back to the night we met

I don’t know what I’m supposed to do

Haunted by the ghost of you

Take me back to the night we met

These lyrics, those moments – I felt I had written them for myself, my old self, the person I thought I was supposed to be, the person I was before I was consumed by grief and depression and yet, I realized that I was going to make it despite, or maybe because, of the ghosts that haunted me.

That night, as the shooting stars flew, the storm clouds swirled in, and the light mist came down. I was renewed, I was reborn, and I was okay…really okay, and ready for changes I was going to make going forward.

And here I am today, 4 months sober and continuing the healthy changes in my life.

Cakes

Leave a Reply

