Moving Past the 1st Test

 

Did you know that the number 40 is mentioned 146 times in the Bible? The number 40 generally symbolizes a period of testing, trial, or probation. This is what my first 40 days of sobriety were, though I don’t feel that I have yet hit my greatest temptation.

The changes I have seen after 40 days:

Relationships – My marriage is the best it has ever been! We are communicating more, spending more time together, and I feel like we are really partnering on big decisions that affect our family. Friends are roughly the same, I don’t feel I have lost contact with anyone based on my decisions. In fact, most of my friends (near and far) have been very encouraging.

My children are receiving more of my time and attention because I am home more and you can see the difference in their behaviors. We spend more time playing games, reading books, and just hanging out.

Money – I definitely see my pocketbook having a little more filler these days, though I can always find a way to spend it, I feel that the items I purchase now have more meaning and function.

Health – I am down 5 lbs. I haven’t really changed my eating habits much. I am drinking more tea and Le Croix waters when I don’t want tap water. I am sticking to my yoga and meditation routine which feels so good. (I actually miss it when I don’t do it.) I am able to do shoulder stands now and am pushing deeper into my yoga practice. I feel stronger, physically and mentally. I am also loving my Pilates/Barre class on Thursday nights – it is a great time to get away from my daily routines.

This weekend my bestmate came to visit. It was the first time I had gone out to the bars since I quit drinking. It went very well. Not every establishment offers N/A beer or ginger beer, but I was able to find something non-alcoholic to enjoy. The bar scene is certainly different when you are the sober one, but it wasn’t bad. I felt I got more out of the conversations with my friends, I still laughed until I cried and had a great time with people I love.  At the end of the night, I got everyone home safely. I went to bed, got up about my normal time and felt great. I am enjoying that a lot!

I may have passed the first trials, but I am preparing for more so that I don’t lose sight of the goal. Life has been great without alcohol and now I know I can hang out without feeling tempted.

Hope your 2017 is going well! Make this year a personal journey.

Cakes

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

