#ForScienceTour2016 – Day 2

I awoke on day two feeling AMAZING! I was surprised after all the beer drank that I felt that good, but the extra water and walking around LoDo seemed to burn the alcohol off just enough – and for that I was thankful.

We started the day with a trip to Longmont to tour the Oskar Blues Brewery. Every single member of the team I spoke with was friendly, good-humored, and passionate about their work. I loved touring the entire facility with our personal guide, Luke.

img_9785img_9798img_9799img_9803img_9815img_9817img_9821img_9826
We tried some great brews at the Tasty Weasel before heading to the Oskar Blues restaurant a little further away.

img_9834
After a great beginning to the day, we stopped at REI and then headed to Habit Doughnut Dispensary for an afternoon coffee and treat.


We continued walking through the LoDo area in preparation to catch our Red Rocks bus. We made a quick stop at a real dispensary so we could say we had been inside one πŸ™‚ WILD – I know!

img_9846img_9847img_9849
Once on our bus, run by Front Range Ski, it was a party. Our driver, Venus, was hilarious and you could tell she really enjoyed her job. The concert going fans were kind and fun, with many being from Minnesota (small world).

 

Yep, we hiked all the way up there.

 

img_9868img_9870img_9874
The hike up to Red Rocks amphitheater was the fastest, steepest climb of my life. I thought I might die half way up, it was so steep. My knees weren’t having it but I wasn’t missing out nor was the old lady with the cane going to beat me πŸ™‚ A fan has to be dedicated to the music and nature to fully enjoy all that is Red Rocks. Once at the top, the view was spectacular and we couldn’t have asked for better weather.

 

img_9887img_9888img_9896
Lord Huron and Trampled by Turtles were amazing to see

and their sound only accentuated the venue.

Once back to Denver we made a quick stop at VooDoo Doughnut for a late night snack.

img_9913img_9914img_9917

 

The next morning I was up and on the way to the airport by 8am with a stop in the airport for breakfast and my last flight of Denver beer – and one in air Fat Tire.

img_9924img_9931img_9934
This trip refreshed my soul and brought me great joy.

It was a wonderful experience, good brews, and magical memories.

Until the next trip- I am looking for the adventure within each new day.

Blessed.

~Cakes

Leave a Reply

