Trying to come down from my Roller Derby high

WFTDA_IntlChampionships_Logo_215x120

Some of you may know that I volunteered as security staff this last weekend at WFTDA International Championships in St. Paul, MN.  This was truly an experience of a lifetime and an item on my bucket list.

What this trip was to me, beyond a bucket list experience:

  1. A chance to travel and get closer to girlfriends of minederby
  2. An opportunity to catch up with derby family from across the midwest
  3. A learning experience in large event production and securitySTAFF
  4. An exciting event that allowed me to focus on game play, penalty calls and word phrases used by big name announcers (relevant if I am unable to actually play in the future due to my knee…I would love to announce)me
  5. 5.The ultimate endeavor to meet women who were my idols when considering starting roller derby and the Midwest Maidens Roller Derby league. ( Sara Problem of Grave Diggers/Rat City, Nikki Nightrain of Brooklyn Bombshells/Gotham Girls, and to see London Rollergirls! *Fangirl!!!)

    nikki night train

    Meeting Nikki Nightrain from Brooklyn Bombshells/Gotham Girls http://www.gothamgirlsrollerderby.com/players/nikki-nightrain

I had an amazing time…..My personal excitement has no real words to explain….but take a look at this video I found on YouTube of the last jam during the championships final game.

YES, I CRIED!!!

Also, some epic photos from Quick & Derby for your viewing pleasure.

Final Jam of the Championship Game

Photographs by Quick N Derby

For the love of roller derby!

Rose City!

Rose City Rollers/Wheels of Justice take the Hyrdra!

hydra_small

The Hydra trophy

~Cakes~

Leave a Reply

