#TasteTC2015 Review – Day 2 (10.2.15)

cherry

Our 2nd day of tasting and touring the Twin Cities began with a stop at one of my favorite breakfast locations, Isle Buns & Coffee!  I had been dreaming about puppydog tails for days (cinnamon roll sticks).  The small accommodations are made up for with the enormous size of their baked goods.  We enjoyed a caramel pecan roll and a few hot puppydog tails with lattes to start our day.

isle

Isle Buns & Coffee – Scones, Cinnamon Rolls and Caramel Pecan rolls…oh MY!

isle2

Look at ‘dem nuts!!

We then made our way to the Minneapolis Sculpture Garden so I could see the iconic Spoonbridge and Cherry.

cherry2

After a nice morning walk we headed back to Uptown to look at some local shops and have a nice macchiato at People’s Organic.

coffee

At this point we were on a search for some ceviche and Bloody Mary’s and had decided to drive to Smack Shack; however, upon arrival we realized we had read the hours incorrectly and they didn’t open for another hour so we decided to stroll and bide our time.  Along our stroll we found a gem called The Freehouse.  With a slogan like, “From Breakfast to Beer” and waitstaff like our incredible, Mona…..we were in brunch paradise!   We decided to live outside the box and order shrimp ceviche and our first beef marrow, both were out of this world.  We tasted: No.15 Oktoberfest*, No.3 Brown*, No.4 Stout*, and No. 16 Belgian IPA*.  All Delicious!!

freehouse2

freehouse

After a lovely brunch, it was time to take my girlfriend back to Shakopee and pick up my family 🙂

trip

Left to right: My Brother, My Aunt, My Mom and Myself

Friday evening my wonderful brother treated us to dinner at Nighthawks!  With the owner being from South Dakota and this being his second location in Minneapolis, I was ready for something spectacular and they delivered.  The small diner/bar on the corner had a line and every seat packed.  I was willing to wait 🙂   We started the evening with Caesar Steak Tartar and Chopped Liver.  The flavors were amazing!  My aunt and I shared a divine French Dip for dinner and we all shared beers, tasting: Raftman* by Unibroue, Berryswell* by Indeed, The Devil’s Work* by Surly, and Witness Wit by Boom Island.

Nighthawks

Nighthawks

From Nighthawks we made route to Northbound Smokehouse & Brew Pub.  A welcoming brick building with outdoor seating and a lovely hint of smoke in the air and a perfect evening to enjoy it.  Here we enjoyed a house flight consisting of; Anniversary Ale*, Ground Rule Double IPA, Honey Wheat Ale*, Big Jim IPA, Light Rail Pale Ale, Honey Rye*, Smokehouse Porter*, Ball & Chain*.

Northbound

Northbound

We had time for one more stop before our older companions needed to go to bed 🙂 We headed somewhere completely off the charts, Du Nord Craft Spirits, where we enjoyed some delicious hand-crafted cocktails…..my Bees Neez was awesome!

Du Nord Cocktail Room

Du Nord Cocktail Room

At this point we took a short break to deliver my Mom and Aunt to their hotel before heading out to hit a few more breweries…..and I am so glad we did!!

First stop….DANGEROUS MAN!  I mean….I was liking the name and then I saw the logo…and you all know about my love of beards and beer 🙂   At this point the girlfriend who rode with me to the cities and her brother joined us, lucky for me because I got to taste more beers without going overboard.

Dangerous Man Brewing

Dangerous Man Brewing

The man who served us resembled the logo and was very friendly and helpful even with a packed house…literally no where to sit when we arrived.  He talked me into tasting a few that I was sure were not my style….BUT, I truly loved the Peanut Butter Porter* and Imperial Pumpkin Ale*!  We also tasted Belgian Strong Ale* and Biere De Garde*.

We again ran into the realization that breweries and tap rooms close oddly early for this SD lady 🙂

We chose to make one more stop with our friends to another divine gem of craft beers: Fair State Brewing Cooperative.  The beers here are as unique and the faces that adorn the wall – members of the coop.  Here we tasted the Festbier*, Lactobac Eight (Salted Watermelon Gose)* (side note….this was spot on!! everyone else is doing watermelon and melon wrong…in my opinion), India Pale Ale, and Pils*.

After saying our goodbyes to friends, we headed back to my Brother’s and decided to take a late walk in his lovely Uptown neighborhood.  We headed to Republic for a night cap of sorts.  This independent craft beer bar hosts taps of many smaller local breweries that don’t always have tap rooms.  We enjoyed a late night flight: Maggie’s Leap* by Northgate Brewing, Grand Design(Giggle’s S’mores Porter)* by Flat Earth Brewing, Fourier Series: Belgian Dubbel* by Tin Whiskers, Divine Oculust* by Harriet Brewing.  They were all amazing, my only sadness was they had just run out of their offering from HammerHeart Brewing….I guess I will get some another time.

That concludes Day 2, 28 new beers tasted….68 total for the trip.

On to Day 3.

~CAKES~

Leave a Reply

