The Road to Disney – Pre Pre Planning

Walt-Disney

Well, if it is good enough for the Disney empire and all the princesses of the land….it is good enough for me!   I am curious. I have dreams.  I believe!

We are planning a HUGE family vacation in January 2017 to Walt Disney World.  It will be our 5 year wedding anniversary and all of our kids will be old enough to enjoy the trip.  Now I know you are thinking…2017, WHOA LADY, THAT IS FOREVER AWAY!   I know, I know….but I am a type A and I like things planned, organized and budgeted.  I also like to have most everything paid for prior to leaving 🙂

We narrowed down the time of year that works for us:  While the kids are on Christmas vacation or slightly into the 2nd half of the school year, but a time we feel they won’t miss too much if gone for a few days.   The weather in SD will be horrible and some FL sunshine will be nice.   The timeline gives us time to save, time to plan, and time to figure out what exactly everyone wants to do.   We are each making lists of things we really want to see or do.

I have been consulting with friends who have taken their families to get the do’s and don’t tips from other Moms.  I have really learned a lot!  I also started a Pinterest board to try and keep my ideas together 🙂

First we need to decide where we want to stay and that depends on how many people are actually going.  We have a family of 5, but both Grandmothers have showed interest in going as well.  Also, my brother may attend.   Currently I am estimating prices for 1 large suite or smaller accommodations to see what makes the most sense.   I have narrowed down some of my preferred locations to stay, but we will see what works best. We will be opting for some type of dining plan and I know we are getting the photo plan!

The other big decision is whether we take more time and drive down or spend more money and fly.  This is really a big budget item, so this is our current #1 to decide.  We will need to save more to fly, but we will take less time away from work and school…and won’t want to kill each other after 2 days in the car…..really, the choice seems simple….if only money grew on trees 🙂

To say the least, this is going to be some ongoing talk.  I won’t bore you with all the details, but it will come up again 🙂

My friend sent me her blog from the trip her family took this May, if you are interested she has some great advice!

http://mtdaileys.blogspot.com/search/label/Disney

Here’s to wishing on stars!

~Cakes~

Leave a Reply

