Timshel in hard times

download (1)

The word “timshel,” a word that loosely translates as “thou mayest;” the word suggests that we as humans, with the consciousness we “achieved” by eating from the Tree of the Knowledge of Good and Evil in the Garden of Eden, can in every moment CHOOSE our behavior; we can choose between good and evil.  This is part of the basis for Steinbeck’s novel East of Eden.

I didn’t know all this years ago when I fell in love with the song, TIMSHEL by Mumford & Sons.  I just knew that this song, in hard times, really spoke to me.  I got chills when they performed this song live at a concert I attended and even teared up. I know that Mumford had said that the last album had  more spiritual undertones and the thoughts of where man is in his journey with God and with what he believes for himself.

In listening to the song, it reminded me a lot about a few things I have read or heard recently about the choices we make in life. Watch Jim Carrey Commencement Speech (jump to 10:18 if short on time, that is where it really gets good).  Read Hunter S. Thompson – on finding your purpose.   These items have taken hold in my heart and are moving me in ways I never could imagine.   When I am down, when life has me by the throat and I feel like I might go under…..I have the choice to survive, I have the choice to put myself and family first, I have the choice to have a good and loving attitude no matter what and I have a choice to be happy and live my dreams.   No one can move the mountains for me, if I want it I have to move.  Friends can be there to help us, but it is up to us to want the change and make the move.

Lyrics of TIMSHEL

Cold is the water
It freezes your already cold mind
Already cold, cold mind
And death is at your doorstep
And it will steal your innocence
But it will not steal your substance

But you are not alone in this
And you are not alone in this
As brothers we will stand and we’ll hold your hand
Hold your hand

And you are the mother
The mother of your baby child
The one to whom you gave life
And you have your choices
And these are what make man great
His ladder to the stars

But you are not alone in this
And you are not alone in this
As brothers we will stand and we’ll hold your hand
Hold your hand

But I will tell the night
And whisper, “Lose your sight”
But I can’t move the mountains for you

Writer/s: MUMFORD, MARCUS OLIVER JOHNSTONE / DWANE, EDWARD JAMES MILTON / LOVETT, BENJAMIN WALTER DAVID / MARSHALL, WINSTON AUBREY ALADAR
Publisher: Universal Music Publishing Group
Lyrics licensed and provided by LyricFind

Take your first step!  What are you waiting for?  To fail at what you don’t want or actually live in Faith and go get the dream!

~Cakes~

Leave a Reply

