Welcome Mat

There are places that you are always welcome, but you must choose to take the path.  Sometimes getting started is the hardest part, especially after a long pause or sudden detour.  Every journey is filled with emotions but after a set-back, or even a perceived set-back those emotions could be your worst enemy or your excuse not to go forward.

In 2011-2012, I participated in Bikram, hot yoga.  I loved it.  It was difficult and awkward at first, but soon I could do almost every pose….maybe not to the fullest extent, but I could even muster a standing bow on occasion.  Like any practice, you have your good days and you have your better days.

Recently, due to some back and knee injuries I have had a serious back slide with my weight and workout routines.  We are finally seeing more sun, so biking will become more frequent, but I miss working out, a good sweat, the endorphin rush, the feeling of accomplishment.

My husband and I began a healthier diet and lifestyle plan this week, as we both feel we have at least 30 lbs to lose to feel better in general.  I know having a partner in the process, and having a partner at home eating the same as me will be a big help this time around.

As part of this process, I have decided to incorporate a 1/2 hour (roughly) morning yoga routine. This morning I began with Yoga with Adriene – yoga for complete beginners:

http://yogawithadriene.com/yoga-complete-beginners/

This was a great starting point!  I enjoyed how loving she is to herself and her viewers.  After so long away from yoga, I was surprised to feel so welcome on the mat.  It embraced me like an old friend and I was happy to have those minutes of my morning to get centered and just appreciate my body for everything it is.

I am excited to embark on Adriene’s 30 days of yoga program, and maybe I can even get my husband to try it a few times 😉   What activity have you let go of?  Maybe you need to reignite an old friendship in your future 🙂  I know I am missing kettlebells too!

To making your changes for a better you.

~Cakes~

Leave a Reply

