Oxford Memories

In 2001, I participated in a Eurospring program that allowed me to attend classes in Oxford, UK for my spring semester.  I lived in a lovely place called Wycliffe Hall.  I walked everywhere while in Oxford and learned quick that heels and misted cobblestone streets where a recipe for disaster.  I also found a love for dance clubs like I had never known and still dream about Ali’s Kabab stand that served the best late night food of all time!

wycliffe-hall-004

Wycliffe Hall. My bedroom was the small window on the 2nd floor directly above the red car in this picture.

Recently I became aware that Dr. Allan Chapman, our professor while in Oxford, received a medal from the Royal Astronomical Society.  http://www.bemidjistate.edu/news/2015/02/17/eurospring-lecturer-dr-alan-chapman-receives-royal-astronomical-societys-jackson-gwilt-medal/

Dr. Chapman

Dr. Chapman – He knew bowties were cool long before Dr. Who 🙂

Dr. Chapman is well known for his studies, lectures and series Gods in the Sky.(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Allan_Chapman_%28historian%29Dr. Chapman is an amazing man and very interesting to listen to.  He made each lecture an experience.  I loved every moment of watching him as the lessons unfolded; society, music, art, politics.  It was always dynamic and he always inspired and provoked thought.  He led us on tours all over England and enjoyed pints right along side us from time to time.

Eurospring-38

I learned many things while studying abroad.  Mostly I learned about myself.  I learned about people, as this was the time I really spread my wings and learned the skill of making friends of everyone I meet.  I learned what is was to really work for something you wanted, and I wanted the opportunity to study outside of the USA.   I still keep tabs on friends I made while studying overseas.

Oxford was really only the beginning of the journey, for once our studies were completed we got on a huge bus, drove to the white cliffs of Dover and hopped a ferry to France 🙂  And the weeks that ensued were some of the most amazing experiences of my life, traveling all over Europe; France, Switzerland, Austria, Italy, Germany, Netherlands and more.

Yes, I am one of those people that says “I’ve been there” while watching movies and sometimes I even tear up a bit, because those memories are so fond.  That time was mine and I have always cherished it.  And that sense of adventure has never left me 🙂

To those who dare to dream and wonder!

Making memories each day.

~Cakes~

Leave a Reply

