Parental Time Warp

It seems like just a few months ago my daughter was learning to walk; yet today she can write her name, carry on complete conversations and even wipe her own butt.  Milestones 🙂

I feel like in many ways I have missed out on her growth.  Between working, community organizations and roller derby…the last 2-3 years of my life seem almost a blur.  I feel like in a blink of any eye, my children will be grown and I won’t know when it all happened.

I made a vow to my husband and family last year to be more connected and in the present moment when I am home with them.  This means, PUT THE iPHONE DOWN!  This means playing more games, doing more activities, going on more adventures (even if small).  This also means I put a few things down for awhile and restructured how I was going to add items I enjoyed back to my life without negative ramifications on our family.

We all need our personal time and endeavors.  We all need to decompress.  But at the same time my family needs me.  My husband and I have to compromise and juggle sometimes to keep it all flowing, but we do it (mostly lovingly).  I am so happy to have a partner in life and parenting. I need a person to laugh with when our daughter makes some outrageous statement and someone to jokingly blame when she is stubborn and bull-headed….that’s a family trait right!?  Not from my side 😉

I also feel like the parenting time warp goes both ways.  From the moment I found out I was pregnant with each child, I would imagine what their life would be.  Who would they become? What paths will they take in life?  I would imagine swimming lessons, their first day of school, graduations, weddings. And then as they grow; even if these thoughts don’t leave my mind…now I also want to go back and re-live the first step, the first word, the first “I love you” from their lips.

The time warp may never end, but I hope to make the most of the time I have now.

Each day that I am blessed with is a gift.  The present.

~Cakes~

Leave a Reply

